Connect with us

Album Reviews

The Debut Album of Mitch Shiner and the BloomingTones Big Band: Fly!



Mitch Shiner and the BloomingTones Big Band - Fly

As soon as I played the first track on Mr. Shiner and the BloomingTones Big Band ´s debut album, I was astonished by the powerful, pure and jazzy style they could create. The first theme “Dragon Express” (one of his original compositions) is a delectable jazz piece where each member of this great band contributes with attitude and great brilliance to the cadence and melody of this theme.

The leader of this project is a virtuous musician, a percussionist who can play drums, the vibraphone and congas. Mitch Shiner is a composer and arranger, a passionate young musician who loves jazz tradition and the evolution of this musical genre. It is worth mentioning some background about this young talent: Mr. Shiner began playing and studying percussion when he was a child. This drummer and vibraphonist graduated from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music with a Bachelors degree in Jazz Studies. Some of his professors and mentors have been Steve Houghton and Michael Spiro. Mitch has performed in many bands and ensembles including the Vocal Jazz Ensemble, the Singing Hoosiers, Steel Pan Band, the Latin Jazz Ensemble, University Orchestra, and the Brazilian Percussion Ensemble among others.

In Fly!, Mitch Shiner displays the study and experience accumulated over many years since he was a little child. Cultivating his talent with discipline, rigor and eagerness, this percussionist really put together his passion for jazz, leading his first official album from his chair as a drummer, vibraphonist and conga player. In this work Mr. Shiner shows his capacity and artistry to compose complex jazz themes that open the perfect scenario for the band members to improvise and interact between smart catchy lines.

Fly! is a demonstration and model of what young musicians can do, taking risks in life, liberating the spirit and challenging the human creativity possibilities. The listener can appreciate this musical contribution in the theme called the same as the album´s title: “Fly”. The double bass and trumpets interlace to create a fine intro, then slowly the melody and the jazz solos come up. This is about the pure sensation of delicate interpretation and enchanting joyfulness.

“Watchful Eyes” is another remarkable theme, a nostalgic bossanova played masterfully by Mr. Shiner who conducts from his seat, with feeling, the performance of his colleagues. With the vibraphone, this song explores beautiful sonorities and leads the band to define a particular personality sound. In his first album Mitch Shiner explores the mix of traditional sound and modern jazz including Afro Cuban music and contemporary standards.

Produced by Mitch Shiner and Wayne Wallace, this album was recorded at Primary Sound Recordingin Bloomington Indiana, and consist of 10 songs, five of them are Mr. Mitcher´s original compositions: “Dragon Express”, “Fly”, “6:20 Shuffle”, “Malibu Jump”and “Watchful Eyes”. It is really worth listening to!

Track Listing: 1. Dragon Express, 2. When You Wish Upon A Star, 3. Wrecking Ball – Oggun, 4. Fly, 5. An Evening Thought, 6. 6:20 Shuffle, 7. Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head, 8. Malibu Jump, 9. Watchful Eyes, 10. Brother To Brother.

The BloomingTones Big Band COMPLETE PERSONNEL:

Woodwinds: Amanda Gardier (alto/soprano sax, flute, alto flute); Adam Carrillo (alto/soprano sax, clarinet); Matt Roehrich (tenor sax, alto flute, clarinet); Alex Young (tenor sax, clarinet); Steven Banks (baritone sax, bass clarinet)

Trombones: Dan Coffman (lead); John Sorsen; Stewart Rhodes; Brennan Johns (bass); Wayne Wallace (tracks 5, 9)

Tuba: Matt Johnson (tracks 5, 9)

French Horns: Eric Dumouchelle (track 7); Torrey D’Angelo (track 7)

Trumpet/Flugelhorns: Jordan Ghaim (lead); Josiah Lamb; Joe Anderson (EVI track 10); Lexie Signor; Pat Harbison (tracks 5, 9)

Piano: John Weisiger

Guitar: Matt MacDougall

Vocals: Richard Baskin (tracks 2, 5, 10); Michael Spiro (track 2)

Upright, Electric, Baby Bass: Anna Butterss (tracks 1, 6, 8); Rob Walker (tracks 2, 3, 4, 7, 10); Jeremy Allen (tracks 5, 9)

Percussion: Joe Galvin (batá track 2, guiro track 5); Kristin Olson (batá track 2 / congas tracks 6, 8, 10 / timbales track 5 / shakers track 10); Mitch Shiner (congas track 5 / maracas track 5 / shekere track 2 / shakers tracks 9, 10 / triangle track 9); Michael Spiro (batá 2)

Vibraphone: Kristin Olson (tracks 1, 4, 6, 8); Mitch Shiner (tracks 2, 7, 9)

Drum Set: Ben Lumsdaine (track 9); Josh Roberts (tracks 2, 7); Mitch Shiner (tracks 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10)

Label: Patois Records | Release date: August, 2014

Website: | Buy music on: amazon

Oscar graduated in journalism and education in Colombia, and completed a postgraduate program in Creative Writing in Canada. He works as an English teacher, translator and freelance writer in Bogotá. Oscar is a music collector, explorer and promoter of World Music and Jazz.


* indicates required

Most Read in 2023