Connect with us


Pianist, Composer Emilio Teubal Releases New Album: “Futuro”



Emilio Teubal by Jitka Teubalova
Pianist, Composer, Arranger Emilio Teubal - Photo by Jitka Teubalova

Emilio Teubal is a pianist, composer, arranger from Argentina based in New York. He has recorded over thirty albums, both as a sideman and as a composer and bandleader, including the 2018 Latin Grammy Winner album Vigor Tanguero by the Pedro Giraudo Group. A prolific composer and arranger, Emilio identifies his artistry and creative search to the music of Latin America and the permanent elasticity of stylistic limits.

NYC based, Argentine pianist, composer Emilio Teubal presents his new recording (his sixth as a leader), entitled Futuro, to be released in February 2023. The title track, and most of the music on the album, was conceived of and composed during the initial lockdown in early 2020 for the newly formed, Emilio Teubal Post-Trio, with Pablo Lanouguere and Chris Michael.

Emilio Teubal: Futuro
Emilio Teubal: Futuro

Futuro is reflective of Teubal’s experience during this harrowing, uncertain time, with the added sadness of mourning the loss of his father. The music heard on this album came to life in the studio at the end of 2021 when the Post-Trio was joined by special guests, drummer Brian Adler (replacing Chris Michael who had a strong case of long-covid, and hasn’t recovered since), vibraphonist Chris Dingman, guitarist Fede Diaz, and clarinetist Sam Sadigursky. The resulting album is an eclectic, modern collection of singular music which represents Teubal’s rumination and contemplation about loss, grieving, and of course about the future; his own, and the world’s.

Tracks: 1. Futuro; 2. Children of MMXX; 3. Cinco en Seis Cuerdas; 4. Rio; 5. Tokyo Trenque; 6. Remolinos (Tolerance); 7. Los Que Fluyen; 8. Tortuga; 9. Blackbird; 10. Los Ultimos Serán Los Primeros.

Track 5 dedicated to Eduardo Garcia. Track 10 dedicated to Miguel Teubal.

Personnel: Emilio Teubal: Piano; Pablo Lanouguere: Acoustic and Electric Bass; Chris Michael: Drums (2,4,8,9 and 10); Brian Shankar Adler: Drums and Percussion (1,3,5,6 and 7)
Fede Diaz: Guitar (1,5 and 7); Sam Sadigursky: Clarinet (1,5 and 7); Chris Digman: Vibraphone (3,6 and 9).

All music on Futuro is composed and arranged by Emilio Teubal (BMI), Except #9 by Lennon/McCartney. Recorded by Chris Benham at Big Orange Sheep Studios (December 2021 to May 2022). Mixed and Mastered by Brian Forbes at Hook and Fade Studios, with aditional mixing by Alex Venguer. Artwork by Alex Rearick. Produced by Emilio Teubal.

YouTube Video – Emilio Teubal New Post-Trio: Children of MMXX

Web Publisher. Founder, Editor & Webmaster for Latin Jazz Network, World Music Report & That Canadian Magazine. A passionate and committed communicator with a sensibility for the arts based in Toronto, Canada.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement Jazz en Dominicana: The Interviews 2023 - New book by Fernando Rodríguez De Mondesert
Advertisement “Hilario


* indicates required

Most Read in 2023-2024