Connect with us


Drummer, Percussionist, Composer Fernando García to release new album: ‘Behique’



Fernando Garcia & Behique
Drummer, Percussionist, Composer Fernando García with Behique
Recorded on January 31 and February 1, 2022 at The Samurai Hotel recording studio, Queens, New York. To be released on January 27, 2023.

Born in San Juan and raised in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico, García studied guitar at the extension program of the Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico and drumset at Micheo Music Academy (Santurce), while later receiving a bachelor’s degree in Música Popular from the Inter-American University of Puerto Rico (Graduating in May 2011). Furthermore, he was awarded the Juan Luis Guerra Scholarship to complete a master’s degree in Contemporary Performance at Berklee College of Music, Valencia, Spain (Graduating in July 2013). In May 2018, García completed a second master’s degree in Music Education at the prestigious Teachers College Columbia University.

In New York City, he has established himself as a drummer, percussionist, composer, and educator. Throughout his career, he has worked equally as a band leader as well as a sideman. Some of the musicians García has toured and/or recorded with include Abraham Laboriel, Perico Sambeat, Ricardo Pons, Héctor Matos, Pepe Rivero, Alain Pérez, Guillermo Klein, Julio Montalvo, Victor Mendoza, John Benitez, Ximo Tébar, Nathaniel Townsley, Jim Ridl, Boris Koslov, and Miguel Zenón among others. As a bandleader, García has produced three studio recordings: Desde Arriba (Fernando García Music, 2012), Subidor (Montalvo Records, 2013), and Guásabara Puerto Rico (ZOHO Music, 2018).

Fernando García: Behique
Fernando García: Behique
  1. Alegría – by Fernando García
  2. Esperanza – by Fernando García
  3. Behique – by Fernando García
  4. Meli Ton Ton Be – by Hermanos Ayala, arranged by F. García, V. P. García, Y. Cruz, X. Gaetán.
  5. Unión – by Fernando García
  6. Yubá La Marilé – traditional, arranged by F. García
  7. Popurrí de Bomba – traditional arranged by F. Garcia & N.M. González
  8. Nuevas Vibras – by Fernando García
  • Fernando García: drums and vocals
  • Claudia Tebar: vocals
  • Víctor Pablo García: barril, backing vocals, and vibraphone on track 7.
  • Dan Martínez: bass
  • Gabriel Vicens: electric guitar
  • Jan Kus: tenor saxophone, and soprano saxophone on track 2
  • Gabriel Chakarji: piano, and Hammond organ on track 8.
  • Recording Engineer: Danilo Pichardo
  • Mixing Engineer: Robert “Bobby” Connelly
  • Master: Tahir Durkalic & Fernando García
  • Album Artwork: Rafael Maya

YouTube Video – Fernando García: Meli Ton Ton Be Live

Content Source: Two for the Show Media

Web Publisher. Founder, Editor & Webmaster for Latin Jazz Network, World Music Report & That Canadian Magazine. A passionate and committed communicator with a sensibility for the arts based in Toronto, Canada.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement Jazz en Dominicana: The Interviews 2023 - New book by Fernando Rodríguez De Mondesert
Advertisement “Hilario


* indicates required

Most Read in 2023-2024